This article describes the types of licenses available for NetScaler and NetScaler Gateway appliances.


This article describes the types of licenses available for NetScaler and NetScaler Gateway appliances. NetScaler licenses are assigned to physical (MPX) and virtual (VPX) appliances. Logical (SDX) appliances require licenses for each physical appliance and each virtual instance. Refer to NetScaler Platform for more information.

Types of NetScaler Licenses

  • Retail NetScaler (physical box) License: This is a license for the physical appliance. This license helps to enable all necessary features of the appliance and 5 Secure Socket Layer (SSL) Virtual Private Network (VPN) connections. By default, this license is allocated to hostname "ANY" in the My Account web site. This allocation??cannot be changed.

  • Other NetScaler licenses: These licenses include Internal, Partner Use, DEMO, EVALUATION, or VPX. You need to allocate these licenses to the Host ID of the appliance.

For more information refer to NetScaler editions and features supported by each edition.

Types of NetScaler Gateway Licenses

  • NetScaler Gateway Express License: The Express license is used with the NetScaler VPX and allows for up to five concurrent user connections by using Receiver or the NetScaler Gateway Plug-in. The Express license is available for the VPX appliance and expires after one year. Users can connect to either Basic or SmartAccess virtual servers.

  • NetScaler Gateway Platform License (ICA license): The Platform license allows unlimited user connections to published applications on XenApp or virtual desktops from XenDesktop. Connections using Citrix Receiver do not use a NetScaler Gateway Universal license. These connections only need the Platform license. The Platform license is delivered electronically with all new NetScaler Gateway orders, whether physical or virtual. If you already own an appliance covered by a warranty or maintenance agreement, you can obtain the Platform license from the Citrix web site.

  • NetScaler Gateway Universal License (CCU license): This license allows VPN connections to the network from the NetScaler Gateway Plug-in, a SmartAccess logon point, or Worx Home, WorxWeb, or WorxMail.

    The Universal license limits the number of concurrent user sessions to the number of licenses you purchase. If you purchase 100 licenses, you can have 100 concurrent sessions at any time. When a user ends a session, that license is released for the next user. A user who logs on to NetScaler Gateway from more than one computer occupies a license for each session.

For more information refer to Citrix Documentation - NetScaler Gateway License Types and Citrix Blog - Access Gateway Licensing Demystified and Access Gateway Licensing Demystified Part 2 (HA).

Additional Resources

Citrix Documentation - NetScaler Licensing Overview
CTX126049 - How to License a NetScaler Gateway Appliance
CTX121062 - How to License NetScaler Appliances Using Manage Licenses Tool
CTX133147 - How to Allocate NetScaler VPX Licenses
CTX130498 - How to Obtain and Activate NetScaler VPX Trial Licenses

Applicable Products


Join the conversation

Citrix Discussions

Open a case

Citrix Support